Get involved with Lancashire & Cumbria LMCs


Integrated Care Partnerships

Some time in 17 /18 the language changed again – this time to Integrated Care Systems (ICSs) and Integrated Care Partnerships. (ICPs) The emphasis is now not on accountability (too strong a management speak) but on integration and partnership, the original concepts within the Five Year Forward View.

It is recognised that each organisation will retain its statutory function and governance arrangements but they will come together for a common purpose with shared values and objectives. The concept by which this will be achieved is described as meeting together as a “Committee in Common.” How this will work in practice remains to be seen.

The Integrated Care System (ICS) is the region wide partnership (a rebadged STP) that will oversee the commissioning function across the Region. Locally this is Lancashire and South Cumbria. There is a separate ICS for North Cumbria but it is anticipated that this will amalgamate with neighbouring health communities in the North East.

The Integrated Care Partnership (ICP) is the local health and social care community – a rebadged Local Delivery Plan (LDP) based on existing acute hospital catchment areas. There are five in Lancashire and South Cumbria:

  • Central Lancashire
  • Fylde Coast
  • Morecambe Bay
  • Pennine Lancashire
  • West Lancashire

As stated in the previous paragraph North Cumbria, also based on the acute trust catchment area is currently an ICP and an ICS!


Preston Office

Consortium of Local Medical Committees
Ambulance Headquarters
449-451 Garstang Road

Tel: 01772 863806


Latest Blogs and insights direct from Lancashire and Cumbria LMCs Chief Executive, Peter Higgins, LMC staff and guest bloggers.