Get involved with Lancashire & Cumbria LMCs


Neighbourhood Working

Throughout the planning processes in the Local Delivery Plans (LDPs) and now in the successor ICPs there has been a strong emphasis on the delivery of integrated health and social care in neighbourhoods. The concept has been of working in natural communities identifying with local people in local settings. It is at this level that operational integration of health, social and voluntary sector services can best be achieved. It is fundamental to these proposals that services wrap around natural clusters of GP practices.

There has been no hard and fast definition of the size of these neighbourhoods as it relies on local geography and environment. However a rough rule of thumb has been around the 30,000 to 50,000 populations.

This is where it gets complicated again as each health community (the ICPs) want to use different language to describe essentially the same thing.  The generic term that is commonly used is “integrated neighbourhood teams.” The terms used in each ICP are as follows:

  • Central Lancashire – Integrated Care Teams (ICTs)
  • Fylde Coast – Integrated Locality Teams
  • Morecambe Bay – Integrated Care Communities (ICCs)
  • Pennine Lancashire – Integrated Neighbourhood Teams (INTs)
  • West Lancashire –
  • North Cumbria – Integrated Care Communities (ICCs)

Each of these neighbourhood team, whatever they are called, will require a degree of management and coordination. The arrangements will vary from locality to locality but will usually involve a GP with designated sessions, a nurse, perhaps from community services and a manager.


Preston Office

Consortium of Local Medical Committees
Ambulance Headquarters
449-451 Garstang Road

Tel: 01772 863806


Latest Blogs and insights direct from Lancashire and Cumbria LMCs Chief Executive, Peter Higgins, LMC staff and guest bloggers.